The 12th Installation of the Rotaract Club of Battaramulla

The 12th installation ceremony of the Rotaract Club of Battaramulla was held on the 30th of July 2017 at the Royal College Union Skills Centre, Colombo. On behalf of our club Rtr. IPP. Kavinda Bandulasena, Rtr. Sandali Thiranagama, Rtr. Dileka Hettikankanama, Rtr. Arundika Weerasekara and Rtr. Eranga C. Premathilaka attended the event.

The event commenced with the arrival of the Chief Guest and the other dignitaries and the lightening of the traditional oil lamp. The chief guest of the event was Rtn. PHF Warren Solomonz, President of the Rotary Club of Battaramulla, which is the sponsoring club of the Rotaract club of Battaramulla. Guest of honor for the evening was District Rotaract Committee Chair 2017-18 Rtn. PP Bobby Shrinivas.

The ceremony was called to order by the outgoing President Rtr. Sudarshan Lechmunadan and was followed by the Rotaract Invocation, Flag Salutation, Four-way test and the Rotaract song. . The gathering was then formally welcomed by the project Chairperson Rtr. Deve Sathasivam. The Secretary’s report for the year 2016/17 was presented by the outgoing Secretary Rtr. Hafiz Saleem from a creative video clip which included memorable photographs from each project of that year.

Then the outgoing president Rtr. Sudarshan Lechmunadan addressed the gathering and shared his thoughts. He thanked everyone who supported him to complete the year successfully. Next, Rtr. Deve Sathasivam introduced the 12th incoming President of the Rotaract Club of Battaramulla, Rtr. Navidu Hettiarachchi.

Then the outgoing president Rtr. Sudarshan Lechmunadan collared the Incoming president Rtr. Navidu Hettiarachchi and officially handed over the duties and responsibilities of the club. Then the new Board of Directors for the year 2017-18 were inducted.

The Board of Directors for the year 2017-18 are as follows:

  • President – Rtr. Navidu Hettiarachchi
  • Immediate Past President – Rtr. Sudarshan Lechmunadan
  • Vice President – Rtr. Deve Sathasivam
  • Secretary – Rtr. Oshada Pandithage
  • Treasurer – Rtr. Damitha Yatawara
  • Sergeant-at-Arms – Rtr. Danushka Ratnayake
  • Editor and Public Relations Director – Rtr. Chandula Bandara
  • Club Service Director – Rtr. Amadi Sudusinghe
  • Professional Development Director – Rtr. Mohommed Zakeer
  • Community Service Director – Rtr. Dinishini Perera


Afterwards, DRR Rtr. PP. Anuradha Senanayake was invited to address the gathering. She congratulated the new President and the Board of Directors and recognized the efforts of Rtr. IPP Sudarshan Lechmunadan. Also she congratulated the club on their great achievements. This was followed by a short address by the Guest of Honor, District Rotaract Committee Chair Rtn. PP Bobby Shrinivas.

Next on the agenda was an entertainment item which was performed by Rtr. Elon Newton.

Then, the podium was taken up by the Chief Guest for the evening, President of the Rotary Club of Battaramulla Rtn. PHF Warren Solomonsz.

After the distribution of tokens of appreciation to the dignitaries, the floor was open for felicitations. The vote of thanks delivered by the Secretary for the year 2017-18, Rtr. Oshada Pandithage, followed by the National Anthem. Then the 12th Installation ceremony of Rotaract Club of Battaramulla was successfully concluded.

The Rotaract Club of Sri Lanka Institute of Information Technology is happy to have participated in the Installation Ceremony and we wish the Rotaract Club of Battaramulla all success in the new Rotaract Year.


Written by-

Rtr. Dilini De Silva

Co-Editor 2017-18

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s