The 7th Installation Ceremony of the Rotaract Club of University of Sri Jayawardenepura

The 7th Installation Ceremony of the Rotaract Club of University of Sri Jayawardenepura was held on the 24th of August 2017 at the Science Faculty Auditorium at the university premises. On behalf of our club Rtr. Vinura Ganegoda, Rtr. Sandali Thirangama and Rtr. Gavindu Saranga attended the event.

The event commenced with the arrival of the Chief Guest and the other dignitaries followed by lightening of the traditional oil lamp. The Chief Guest of the event was the Vice Chancellor of University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Prof. Sampath Amarathunge and the Guest of Honor for the event was President of Rotary Club of Battaramulla, Rtn. PHF Warren Solamanz.

The ceremony was called to order by the Outgoing President Rtr. Osanda Wijesundara and was followed by the Rotaract Invocation, Flag Salutation, Four-way test and the Rotaract song. Then the gathering was warmly welcomed by the project chairperson Rtr. Dinuka Senevirathne. The secretaries’ report for the year 2016-17 was presented by Rtr. Methma Welivita on behalf of the outgoing secretary of the year 2016-17.

Then the Outgoing President Rtr. Osanda Wijesundara addressed the gathering and shared his thoughts. He thanked everyone who supported him to complete the year successfully and then collared the incoming President Rtr. Samudya Amarasinghe and officially handed over the duties and responsibilities of the post.

President Rtr. Samudya Amarasinghe then addressed the gathering and shared his vision for the future of the club and the new board of directors for the year 2017-18 were inducted.

  • President – Rtr. Samudya Amarasinghe
  • Vice President Developments – Rtr. Pankaja Suraweera
  • Vice President Operations – Rtr. Nisal Balasuriya
  • Secretary – Rtr. Divya Kalansuriya
  • Treasurer – Rtr. Piyumi Rajapakshe
  • Sergeant-at- Arms – Rtr. Chanuka Pinsara
  • Club/Board Advisor – Rtr.Visitha Amarathunga
  • Assistant Secretary – Rtr. Saranga Madurasinghe
  • Assistant Treasurer – Rtr. Savindra Wedahitha
  • Club Development Senior Director– Rtr. Thanushi Jayaweera
  • Club Service Co-Directors– Rtr. Kavishka Hewagamage, Rtr. Uththara Kapugamage, Rtr. Sachin Wijaysinghe, Rtr. Shanuka Kesara
  • International Service Co-Directors – Rtr. Gethmi Siriwardena, Rtr. Bhagya Fernando, Rtr. Ruvandi Rupasinghe, Rtr. Asel Hettiarachchi
  • Community Service Co-Directors – Rtr. Padumi Ayodya, Rtr. Dushmanthi Bandara, Rtr. Uvini Gunarathne, Rtr. Naveen Silva
  • Professional Development Co-Directors – Rtr. Nadeesha Babapulle, Rtr. Hasini Alahapperuma, Rtr. Minindu Ekanayake, Rtr. Dushan Sasmitha
  • Public Relation Co-Directors – Rtr. Thanuri De Costa, Rtr. Sadeepa Dias, Rtr. Isuru Thilakarathne, Rtr. Kavinga Priyasad, Rtr. PAmodya Pamunuwa
  • Member Relation Co-Directors – Rtr. Lakna Gunasekara, Rtr. Sanduni Rajapakshe, Rtr. Dinuka Senevirathne, Rtr. Ruvindi Wijethunge

Screenshot (221)

Afterwards, Media Secretary, Ministry of Megapolis and Western Development and Founder of the Youth Brigade, Mr. Ramanayake addressed the gathering followed by the address of the chief guest, Vice Chancellor Prof. Sampath Amrathunga who highlighted how the Rotaract Club brings together all the faculties in the university.

Then DRR Rtr. Anuradha Senanayake addressed the gathering and discussed about the performance of the club last year and emphasized the fact about the award-winning projects such as “Nethu Dahasak” and also “Butterfly Effect” which is recognized as one of the most trending projects in the current year.

District Rotaract Committee Chair Rtn. Bobby Shrinivas and President of Rotary Club of Battaramulla, Rtn. Warren Solomnz also addressed the gathering who brought inspiration and encouragement for every member.

Then tokens of appreciations were handed over to the all the dignitaries who graced the occasion followed by the vote of thanks delivered by Secretary Rtr. Divya Kalansuriya and the national anthem which brought this event to the conclusion.

The Rotaract Club of Sri Lanka Institute of Information Technology is happy to have participated in the Installation Ceremony and we wish the Rotaract Club of University of Sri Jayawardenepura all success in the new Rotaract Year.


Written by-

Rtr. Duleesha Waidyarathne 

Co-Editor 2017-18

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s