The 4th Installation Ceremony of the Rotaract Club of Edulink International Campus

The 4th Installation Ceremony of the Rotaract Club of Edulink International Campus was held on the 24th of July 2017 at Paramount Reality, Nawala. On behalf of our club Rtr. IPP Kavinda Bandulasena, Rtr. Dileka Hettikankanama and Rtr. Dilini De Silva attended the event.

The event commenced with the arrival of the Chief Guest and the other dignitaries and the lightening of the traditional oil lamp. The chief guest of the event was the Director of Edulink International Campus Mr. Kanishka Weeramunda and the Guest of honor for the evening was the Youth Services Advisor of the Rotary Club of Colombo Central, Rtn. Merrick Peiris.

The ceremony was called to order by the outgoing President Rtr. Nipun Peiris and was followed by the Rotaract Invocation, Flag Salutation, Four-way test and the Rotaract song. The Secretary’s report for the year 2016-17 was presented by Rtr. Thivya Thevakumar which included all the projects and events done by the club the previous year. Within the year of 2016-17, the Rotaract Club of Edulink has completed 52 projects, as per the report given by the Secretary. A creative video clip which included memorable photographs from each project conducted in the year 2016-17 was then played.

Then Rtr. Maduranga introduced the outgoing president Rtr. Nipun Peiris and right after, Rtr. Nipuna addressed the gathering and shared his thoughts. He thanked everyone who supported him to complete the year successfully under the theme ‘Revolution’.

Afterwards, the outgoing president Rtr. Nipun Peiris collared the Incoming president Rtr. Yesith Thomas and officially handed over the duties and responsibilities of the club. Then the new President, Rtr. Yesith Thomas addressed the gathering and he further mentioned that this year will be an unforgettable year for the club with the powerful theme of ‘Imagine, Innovate and Inspire’. Then new Board of Directors for the year 2017-18 were inducted.

  • President – Rtr. Yesith Thomas
  • Immediate Past President – Rtr. Nipun Peiris
  • Vice President – Rtr. Anagi Perera
  • Secretary – Rtr. Thivya Thevakumar
  • Assistant Secretary – Rtr. Hansani Weerasinghe
  • Treasurer – Rtr. HIfaz Hilmi Zain
  • Sergeant-at-arms – Rtr. Shenick Tissera
  • Club Service – Rtr. Sashreeka Bandara
  • Community Service – Rtr. Rivisarani Karunanayaka
  • Community Service – Rtr. Tharindie Alles
  • Professional Development – Rtr. Dilusha Dia
  • Professional Development – Rtr. Sandunlekha Ekanayake
  • International Services – Rtr. Reshad Nilafer

DRR Rtr. PP. Anuradha Senanayake was then invited to address the gathering. She congratulated the new President and the Board of Directors and appreciating the projects done by the club.

Next the podium was taken up by Guest of Honour; the Youth Services Advisor of the Rotary Club of Colombo Central; Rtn. Merrick Peiris. This was followed by the address of the Chief Guest for the evening, the Director of Edulink International Campus, Mr. Kanishka Weeramunda.

After the distribution of tokens of appreciation to the dignitaries, the floor was open for felicitations. The vote of thanks was delivered by the Secretary; Rtr. Thivya Thevakumar, followed by the National Anthem. Then the 4th Installation ceremony of Rotaract Club of Edulink was successfully concluded.

The Rotaract Club of Sri Lanka Institute of Information Technology is happy to have participated in the Installation Ceremony and we wish the Rotaract Club of Edulink International Campus all success in the new Rotaract Year.


Written by –

Rtr. Dilini De Silva

Co-Editor 2017-18

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s