The 8th Installation Ceremony of the Rotaract Club of University of Kelaniya

The 8th Installation Ceremony of The Rotaract Club of University of Kelaniya was held on the 24th of September 2017 at Olympic House Auditorium. On behalf of our club Rtr. Shenuka Ranawaka attended the event.

The event commenced with the arrival of the Chief Guest and the other dignitaries followed by lightening of the traditional oil lamp. The Chief Guest of the event was the Youth Service Adviser of Rotary Club of Colombo Uptown, Rtn. IPP. Jegatheesan Pirrasanth.

The ceremony was called to order followed by the Rotaract Invocation, Flag Salutation, Four-way test and the Rotaract song. Then the gathering was warmly welcomed by Rtr. Iruma Manavi Ratnayake where he stated why they chose “Embracing Inheritance” as their theme for term 2017-18. The secretaries’ report for the year 2016-17 was presented by Rtr. Darsha Hewapanna and Rtr. Yasasi Bandaranayake.

Then a nostalgic video clip was shown which summarized the achievements for the term 2016-17. Since the outgoing president Rtr. Harindu Darshana Abeysinghe was not attending the event due to an unforeseen circumstance, a recording clip was shown with a heartwarming speech by him followed by handing the tokens of appreciations to the past board members for their immense service rendered.

Afterwards Incoming President Rtr. Shivantha Dawson addressed the gathering and the new board of directors for the year 2017-18 were inducted.

  • President: Rtr. Shivantha Dawson.
  • Vice President: Rtr. Dinuka Kaveen
  • Joint Secretaries: Rtr. Sandamini Gunawardhane , Rtr. Sherami Ranasinghe
  • Editors: Rtr. Sakuni Rathnayake, Rtr. Thisaranie Wijayabandara
  • Treasurer: Rtr. Supun Sandaruwan
  • Sergeant at Arms: Rtr. Uresh Ravishanka
  • Club Service Co – Directors: Rtr. Iruma Manavi Ratnayake, Rtr. Venuri Siriwardhane
  • Community Services Co – Directors: Rtr. Hirodya Hasarangi, Rtr. Hasanthi Premathilaka
  • Professional Development Co – Directors: Rtr. Umali Rodrigo, Rtr. Darshana Bandara
  • International Understanding Director: Rtr. Shyni Sandunika
  • Finance Co – Directors: Rtr. Supun Hemachandra, Rtr. Dinushika Jayathissa
  • Public Relations Director: Rtr. Anees Mubarak
  • Digital Media Co – Directors: Rtr. Charinda Dissanayake, Rtr. Rasitha Gamage


Then the Chief Guest of the ceremony; Youth Service Adviser of Rotary Club of Colombo Uptown Rtn. IPP. Jegatheesan Pirrasanth, DRCC. Rtn. Bobby Srinivas, DRR. Rtr. IPP Anuradha Senanayake wished the newly appointed board for a successful year ahead.

Then the tokens of appreciations were handed over to all the dignitaries who supported them for a successful movement by President of the club Rtr. Shivantha Dawson followed by the vote of thanks and the national anthem which brought this event to the conclusion.

The Rotaract Club of Sri Lanka Institute of Information Technology is happy to have participated in the Installation Ceremony and we wish the Rotaract Club of University of Kelaniya all success in the new Rotaract Year.


Written by-

Rtr. Duleesha Waidyarathne

Co-Editor 2017-18

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s